The NAMM Foundation Recognizes 103 College Students with The President’s Innovation Award

In This Article:

2019 Innovation Award winners

The NAMM Foundation has recognized 103 college music students with the organization’s President’s Innovation Award. The annual award provides college music students focused on a career in music education, music business and/or music products a stipend to attend The 2020 NAMM Show and explore concepts, sessions and technologies across music, pro audio and entertainment technology.

At The NAMM Show, the Innovation Award winners will have the opportunity to network with established industry professionals, check out the latest products and technologies, and participate in The NAMM Foundation’s GenNext initiative: a professional development program for college students to help jump-start their careers. Held during each day of the show, and presented in conjunction with the College Music Society, NAMM’s GenNext is open to all college and university students and provides dedicated educational sessions to help the emerging professional advance in their career, including Saturday’s “Careers in Music” summit where they will hear from professional trumpeter, Jonathan Dely and NAMM President and CEO, Joe Lamond.

“Research dictates that having career opportunities and mentorship early on offers improved career outcomes for college-aged students. It’s entirely possible that the great next product inventor, retailer, producer, engineer or music educator will be among us in the class of 2020 Presidents Innovation Award winners,” shares Mary Luehrsen, Executive Director of The NAMM Foundation.

The 103 recipients span colleges from New York to California, and come from a diverse variety of backgrounds and college majors, dedicated to pursuing a career in their respective fields.

For one award-winner, Alyssa Bala, a senior at Ferris State in Michigan, music education has " shaped my life in a variety of ways in both personal and professional. It has helped me figure out what I am passionate about, what paths in the industry I want to work in, and what paths I enjoy learning about but not working in,” Bala says. She hopes that The NAMM Show will help launch her career “as there is nothing else I can see myself doing for the rest of my life that will make me as happy as music does.”

Anthony Long, a senior at Eastern Kentucky University, says that winning the award [will] “Really push me further into the area where I need to be. I need to be around the music industry to learn and grow so I can be best equipped to enter the industry straight out of college.”

“The 2020 NAMM show would advance my [career] goals because I would be around like minded creatives, learn more about the music industry and see all of the new products and services that are available to users,” affirms Evan Fear, a music business major at Bradley University in Illinois.

Marty Cooper, a senior at the University of Southern California is an aspiring audio engineer. For Cooper, the chance to attend The NAMM Show means that, I'm excited for NAMM not only to see innovative new gear and have the opportunity to learn from my production heroes, but also to see old friends that now live across the country who I only get to see at NAMM!”

Congratulations to the 2020 President’s Innovation Award recipients:

First NameLast NameCollege/University
PatrickSporrerAlbright College
ChandlerMuddAnderson University
ColbyDennisAnderson University
AlexanderAlbertiAppalachian State University
Darry ElishaSomersettAppalachian State University
SamuelBowlesAppalachian State University
KaitlynEtieAustin State University
YeanaBondBakersfield College
BradWilliamsonBerklee College of Music
JoséArturo Flores VázquezBerklee College of Music
JunghwanKimBerklee College of Music
LeRoyHenryBerklee College of Music
LiorTamBerklee College of Music
MarFayos OliverBerklee College of Music
YarelysMendozaBerklee College of Music
MadisonBoothBoise State University
EvanFearBradley University
MaryBausmanBradley University
MaxwellNelsonBradley University
AuboniHartButler University
BriGreenButler University
ChristinaSwiderButler University
JacobJohnsonCalifornia State University
SaskiaKnoesterCalifornia State University Los Angeles
AbigailElizarragaCalifornia State University, Fresno
AnnaleeAbrahamsenCalifornia State University, Fresno
AustinPfeifferChadron State College
Anthony "Matt"LongEastern Kentucky University
BrianPowellEastern Kentucky University
GuthrieGreenEastern Kentucky University
AlyssaBalaFerris State University
AndrewMorrisFerris State University
KatlinMerbyFerris State University
StevenSchaeferFerris State University
TaylorFunariFerris State University
KaylaSmithFlorida Atlantic University
KaylaMooreFresno City College
NicholasCrespinFresno City College
SaulRamirezFresno City College
ZoeyTurneyFresno City College
ArthurBaischGeorge Mason University
BrookeNeviusGeorge Mason University
RyanJoseph UrgelGeorge Mason University
SonjaPhillips-ThomasGeorge Mason University
BenjaminThomasIndiana State University
MaryAbernathyIndiana State University
WillisLandonJames Madison University
CatherineSandersLoyola University
TimothyBenjamin Hoel JohnsonManhattan School of Music
AlexanderPetro PetersMillersvile University
ElizabethFishMillersville University
EmmaBylerMillersville University
EstelleNemtsovMillersville University
JohnJungersMillersville University
JoshuaMarzakMillersville University
JoshuaNeillMillersville University
LanceSamuelMillersville University
RhiannonBlanchetteMillersville University
RobertStattelMillersville University
Kyle JosephHughesMontclair State University
MichaelDiIustoMontclair State University
MarioYiNova Southeastern University
GavinMarchonRadford University
JasonByrleyRadford University
SamanthaLynn LaneRadford University
StefanNixonSaint Mary's College
GenequeGlenda Ellen GarrisonSalisbury University
BeccaDavisSamford University
CourtneyJohnsonSamford University
MatthewWatsonSamford University
KathleenBellShenandoah University
HannahNeilSouthwestern University
Jessica LaurelMackSUNY Jamestown Community College
TemimaShamesSUNY Oneonta
ZanidaBanks-RollinsSUNY Oneonta
AdaraHoyneSUNY Potsdam
AshleySlapoSUNY Potsdam
EliasAssimakopoulosSUNY Potsdam
ErinFinnSUNY Potsdam
JosephSmallSUNY Potsdam
Madeline GraceDerouchieSUNY Potsdam
MatthewLevineSUNY Potsdam
NataliaBuitragoSUNY Potsdam
NedGreenoughSUNY Potsdam
RussellPefferSUNY Potsdam
SydneyMulloySUNY Potsdam
ArtaJekabsoneThe New School
RaphaelAnastasiadisThe New School
DanaSabaThe New School Jazz Performing Arts
TylerAdelThe State University of New Jersey
EmmaPannulloTufts University
ScottHansenUniversity of Alaska
JoshuaJonesUniversity of California Irvine
CarolineStumpUniversity of Colorado
AlyssaCoronatoUniversity of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
RachelHeUniversity of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
AnnaMillerUniversity of Indianapolis
GavinCraigUniversity of Indianapolis
Sarah JaneAndersenUniversity of South Carolina
AnaCooperUniversity of Southern California
AbigailHummelUniversity of Wisconsin - Whitewater
HaleyGenzUniversity of Wisconsin - Whitewater
Jonathan DanielLanerWayne State College
Age Group: